Central Park Rocks the House

The little kid on the right has just been introduced to his very first water balloon. I never thought about that before. I wonder what I was like when I was given my very first water balloon. Well actually, knowing me I probably gave it a name and tucked it in next to Ollie.



You’d be amazed how perfect Central Park can be. I wanted to get over to the castle near Columbus Circle since it’s one of the best places ever but I ended up spending most of the day over on the Museum mile side. I got some great kid action. Lately I’ve been focusing on faces. I want to start doing more full body sketches, but those kids just crawl around so quickly! I can’t wait until the Fall when I can get back to life drawing. In the mean time, Central Park can really get your pencil rolling.

These girls played the way I think everyone should play. They were so busy having fun they completely lost track of time. They spent the entire morning jumping from spot to spot and changing their make believe stories again and again. The heat didn’t bother them and since they were lucky enough to be in their swimsuits, neither did the rain.

Here’s a creepy dad who was watching his kids. . . at least I hope they were his kids.



This was my favorite drawing of the day or perhaps the Summer. I loved watching this girl. She was a very young mom who had brought her kid to the park for the first time. She kept trying to explain how to play and telling him what other kids were like. Her son immediately took to the park but every time he fell down or ran into another little kid she’d clutch her hand over her heart.

3 replies »

  1. Hey Amber:Cool stuff!! I’ve been wanting to get out and sketch recently. I love drawing people on the trains, and since I keep forgetting a sketchbook I’ve ended up with a lot of drawings on receipts and napkins!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

#LaterGram

🌙😭 🍒❤️
#songofsummer 
#summerchores This one goes out to @jenmorello 😘 
#onlyinnyc Reuniting my husband with this one million year-old pup was a highlight on our banner blink-and-you'll miss it trip home. Brooklyn, we'll miss you forever. Thanks @kymberella281 & @peckelmann you made this guy's weekend. Today has been crap, but now it is beautiful. #gofigure Kisses! 
love,
Nature My husband is the dreamiest. I'm pretty limited in what I can eat these days. We've sidelined dairy, gluten and legumes to help with my auto-immune diseases. There was something particularly tempting while we were in Park City this weekend. It boasted its delicious lime salt loudly. Alas, it wasn't anything I could eat. I lamented and went GF/DF etcF, and then quickly forgot about it. As with most things that cause me fleeting disappointment, Matt remembered. Last night when I got home from the studio, I found this little bottle waiting for me on the counter. He made it himself. #limesalt #love #chefwifelife Dragon swimming in a bathtub. We adopted this dishy-fishy in Mexico during the #happilyeveralvarez wedding week of dreams. There are few worldly possessions that bring me as much joy.
