Surtex or bust!

For the last few weeks I’ve been afraid my life might be on a turn down to ‘a slightly better life than the average 25 year old’ phase. In a very exciting turn of events – my life has just become more fabulous then it already was!
It’s official, I’ll be showing at Surtex 2008 at Manhattan’s Javitz center!!
I’ll be in booth 405** and the design frenzy starts today. . .
It’s my goal to have 5 designs a week to add to my portfolio while I’m redesigning my website. I’ve decided to keep a Surtex folder on my desktop to upload five new designs to every Thursday night. I’ve promised myself I won’t sleep on Thursdays until there’s a new batch in there. Most of the designs have to have a ‘top secret’ air to them, but I think it will be fun to document my journey by posting at least one inspirational object or sketch that’s fueling my week’s stockpile.
As some of you know, I get fan mail from kids ages 5-10 at my job. As an artist the personal letters we get from the babes really help to fuel the projects I work on. My favorite is tacked next to my lightbox in my studio and it simply reads:
Hay people,
You better Draw mor pictchers in 3. . . 2. . . 1. . . NOWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!S
Your friend,
Alex P.

I feel like it was written especially for this grand occasion.

**Hi Everyone! There’s been a change of plans. This year I’ll be calling Surtex Booth #2518 “Home.” Booth 2518 is in Hall 1E. Stop by for a temporary tattoo and a smile :)**

Categories: Business, Surtex 2008

Leave a Reply

Categories

#LaterGram

🌙😭 🍒❤️
#songofsummer 
#summerchores This one goes out to @jenmorello 😘 
#onlyinnyc Reuniting my husband with this one million year-old pup was a highlight on our banner blink-and-you'll miss it trip home. Brooklyn, we'll miss you forever. Thanks @kymberella281 & @peckelmann you made this guy's weekend. Today has been crap, but now it is beautiful. #gofigure Kisses! 
love,
Nature My husband is the dreamiest. I'm pretty limited in what I can eat these days. We've sidelined dairy, gluten and legumes to help with my auto-immune diseases. There was something particularly tempting while we were in Park City this weekend. It boasted its delicious lime salt loudly. Alas, it wasn't anything I could eat. I lamented and went GF/DF etcF, and then quickly forgot about it. As with most things that cause me fleeting disappointment, Matt remembered. Last night when I got home from the studio, I found this little bottle waiting for me on the counter. He made it himself. #limesalt #love #chefwifelife Dragon swimming in a bathtub. We adopted this dishy-fishy in Mexico during the #happilyeveralvarez wedding week of dreams. There are few worldly possessions that bring me as much joy.
