Pet Peeves

I had a hard time coming up with what to draw for Illustration Friday this week! I know I’m the one who suggested it, so I need to sketch something out and get a post up. I’m getting over a cold and I’m still a bit stuffy and whiny, all I want to do is lie in bed and watch ‘Dirty Dancing’ on TNT. However, I have to go to work and animate my little heart out all day and somehow find time to draw for this topic! Yikes, I guess that being a grown up and having responsibility is one of my pet peeves.

Originally I’d wanted to draw a bunch of stuff, because my pet peeves conveniently fit into three categories, I have pet peeves as a ‘New Yorker’, as an ‘artist’ and as a ‘dater.’ These sketches were going to be charming and funny and quaint. This week I was reminded of how annoyed I am by the fact that there aren’t enough hours in the day. Can that be a pet peeve? It’s Thursday morning and If I don’t put something up you’re not going to see anything from me on this topic this week.


As a Dater, which rhymes with hater…. My largest dating pet peeve has to do with men and their need to stare at my boobs. I understand my they’re there, and that they may need to be glanced at from time to time just to make sure that they’re still there. . . Often though, and I mean usually, a guy won’t glance at them, they’ll ogle them. Oh, they’ll catch themselves if that ‘normal, functioning, human,’ part of their brain takes over, and then they’ll look at my face. . . . until they lose that part of their brain again. Sometimes when this happens I’m tempted to flash them, just to see them go into sensory overload.

I have to give credit to the sidelong ogler. It’s less awkward for you to look down my shirt if we’re not expected to make eye contact. Dates to art openings are excellent places to pull this one, guys. Oh wait, you already knew that. . . .

Oh yeah. . . I also hate it when my mom calls me just to ask when I’m going to put up my Illustration Friday post. I especially despise it when she does it in a passive aggressive way, like, “Did you put a drawing up yet? I can’t see your little picture under the categories. You know tomorrow’s Thursday, right?” Okay mom, you can run over to http://www.illustrationfriday.com/ right now. It’s up.

PS. I promise my little blog stalkers that I’ll be back to my sunshine-happy self tomorrow.

7 replies »

  1. I understand your pet peeve..and I also understand the biologically-induced dilemma that guys are in when they are about to exhibit your pet peeve. I know what the answer is: keep the eyes focused above the neck! Nice drawings and good expression. Good take on the theme.

  2. Very nice illustration and good character and story / scenario … we would be more sensitive and pay more attention to ladies (esp. above the neck).

Leave a Reply

Categories

#LaterGram

About last night. 🦌💛 Crawling home on all fours after celebrating at the epic Puppy Par-tay my brother and sister-in-law put on for my dog nephew, Milo tonight. It was everything and more, complete with a bone-shaped swimming pool. #dreamtheimpawssibledream 🤘#livewithnoregrets We otter go exploring more rivers. 😍
#lifeachievementunlocked A Mama said there’d be days like this😍
Totally alone in the Natural History Museum’s Hall of Mammals for hours! Hashtag Blessed. It’s 1 AM. Do you know where your mini gummi bears are? 
#fairgame #latenightinthestudio #goodbyeoctober We’re celebrating today. I opened my eyes to Matt  crowing, “Amber! Wake up. They made it!” We have been following the inspiring pilgrimage of my mom @incredimombo & sister @prilliegirl_shakazoozoo via text & @instagram for weeks. They set out to trek across Spain a month and a half ago. This morning they walked their 500th mile and crossed into Santiago. Having read a lot about their journey before they set out to do it, I felt concerned at their determination. The Camino is not easy. It requires walking 10-20 miles a day 7 days a week. You have to carry everything you need on your back. The toll is physical, mental & spiritual. Many prepared and experienced hikers do not make it to the end of the journey the first or second time they attempt it. ☀️ So we’re dreaming impossible dreams and celebrating too. It would seem today is a good day to set out to do the impossible. When we moved to Utah I was sure I’d been too spoiled by my childhood on the ocean and my twenties in Brooklyn, to ever find anything to love in the desert. I fully planned on dying of boredom. I don’t know what I’ll do when we outgrow this little Wasatch apartment of ours! Watching the Sun kiss the mountains goodnight from our tiny balcony is beyond description. This picture doesn’t begin to do it justice. Home again.
