Motivation Mondays

Gerber Daisies are my favorite-thing-short-list, barely beneath Golden Retrievers and right above Hawaiian Shave Ice. These petals are from a smart boy’s bouquet. The colors were too much for me to waste in a vase of water so I taped them to some paper. I justify this flower torture because they’ll live forever when i make them into a winning design.

This little orange was from a quick marker sketch done on the back of a Vitamin Water receipt from Wholefoods. I’ve been carrying these little baby markers around in my purse. The lack of solid black line can get me thinking in a totally different direction.

My sketches tend to be in monochrome. I try to grab a few markers or colored pencils on my way out the door an make myself use them before I get home again. Color isn’t the easiest for me. Sketching just happens but color takes a lot of thinking time.

How do you incorporate color into your thought process?

Listening to right this second: ‘Like Dylan in the Movies’ – Belle and Sebastian

1 reply »

  1. aw the petals remind me of something i used to do when I was smaller; I used to draw what i called the “heart of the flower” (because i didn't know the real name, and i still don't). I didn't like how i used to draw the petals, so i used to go to my mom's garden and take some fallen, but still fresh, flowers and petals and glue them on the paper! I wish i could still do that, because that's the only thing i could do. I can't draw humans, but your drawings and designs are really pretty!

Leave a Reply

Categories

#LaterGram

πŸŒ™πŸ˜­ πŸ’β€οΈ
#songofsummer 
#summerchores This one goes out to @jenmorello 😘 
#onlyinnyc Reuniting my husband with this one million year-old pup was a highlight on our banner blink-and-you'll miss it trip home. Brooklyn, we'll miss you forever. Thanks @kymberella281 & @peckelmann you made this guy's weekend. Today has been crap, but now it is beautiful. #gofigure Kisses! 
love,
Nature My husband is the dreamiest. I'm pretty limited in what I can eat these days. We've sidelined dairy, gluten and legumes to help with my auto-immune diseases. There was something particularly tempting while we were in Park City this weekend. It boasted its delicious lime salt loudly. Alas, it wasn't anything I could eat. I lamented and went GF/DF etcF, and then quickly forgot about it. As with most things that cause me fleeting disappointment, Matt remembered. Last night when I got home from the studio, I found this little bottle waiting for me on the counter. He made it himself. #limesalt #love #chefwifelife Dragon swimming in a bathtub. We adopted this dishy-fishy in Mexico during the #happilyeveralvarez wedding week of dreams. There are few worldly possessions that bring me as much joy.
