She Sure is {Reaching Out}

This has been under wraps and precious,
not unlike my journey here to Provo Studios in Utah. Every day after job-job I flutter to my paints (quietly, so quietly) and pick up crafting away my little opus of art.

This morning one of the most giving women I know – brought me up in a rather large way. Kat Yeh is the kind of person who reaches out. She shares everything in a way that I admire, the good, the bad, the great. Fittingly, I thought today I would share too. Our chance meeting was for sure a sign of the Universe reaching out and sweeping me up in adventure, showing me some of the best this Earth has to give.

As such, I thought I’d share a bit about my own return to nature. 
ThanksForReachingOut_07_FINIt started small…

The way everything great in my life always has started. Just a whisper.
Amber Alvarez_sharingbearsketch.jpgQuite honestly it was about strawberries. There is something about a strawberry – perhaps it’s the shape, is always a heart-offering. When these two unlikely friends came bumbling from my pen, I knew they needed something to draw them together. Of course it would be food. What better does nature have to offer?

Then my searching lead to wonder. Where would these two companions meet? I assumed they’d meet on Pinterest.

squirrel_AmberAlvarez_PinterestBears_AmberAlvarez_PinterestThat was the first place I looked for them. I was not disappointed.

They introduced me to a bevvy of their best friends – their neighbors in The Great Northern Woods. Guys, do you know that The Great Northern Woods only covers 6% less of the World than the Amazon’s rain forest?! What!? Did you know baby foxes live there!? Did you know bunnies live there!? How about hideous but charming Wild Turkeys?! – Well you will– you will know these things if you read my blog and look for my first Utah Collection – The Great North Wood. I’m in process and it’s a beast (s) – but that’s the point, right? admin-ajaxLast night I framed this baby – and I’m a bit wistful to say goodbye for a time. However, I am very proud to say that soon he’ll have a family – and they’ll have friends.

I always want my art – when it’s not hilarious for hilarity’s sake – to be classically modern. I want it to look fresh, but also stand the test of time. So framing this felt important. In the end – when offering your heart –
Go for the Gold.

ThanksForReachingOutFramed

Leave a Reply

Categories

#LaterGram

🌙😭 🍒❤️
#songofsummer 
#summerchores This one goes out to @jenmorello 😘 
#onlyinnyc Reuniting my husband with this one million year-old pup was a highlight on our banner blink-and-you'll miss it trip home. Brooklyn, we'll miss you forever. Thanks @kymberella281 & @peckelmann you made this guy's weekend. Today has been crap, but now it is beautiful. #gofigure Kisses! 
love,
Nature My husband is the dreamiest. I'm pretty limited in what I can eat these days. We've sidelined dairy, gluten and legumes to help with my auto-immune diseases. There was something particularly tempting while we were in Park City this weekend. It boasted its delicious lime salt loudly. Alas, it wasn't anything I could eat. I lamented and went GF/DF etcF, and then quickly forgot about it. As with most things that cause me fleeting disappointment, Matt remembered. Last night when I got home from the studio, I found this little bottle waiting for me on the counter. He made it himself. #limesalt #love #chefwifelife Dragon swimming in a bathtub. We adopted this dishy-fishy in Mexico during the #happilyeveralvarez wedding week of dreams. There are few worldly possessions that bring me as much joy.
