Wrapped

There’s something about having someone else wrap you up in a towel that just feels amazing. Having a personal assistant towel wrapper is one of the million things I miss about being a kid.

The tricky part was the way they’d wrap your hair up in a turban. Your head would be so heavy that you had to walk ‘just so’, scurrying along with your legs wrapped a bit too tightly together to walk in a normal fashion.

I loved the turban. Oh man. It was the greatest. I knew as I floated along with my ears and my looong hair wrapped up in it that this was the stately way a queen walked with her crown of jewels. When I forgot to walk ‘just so’ and it tumbled out I’d get so frustrated. I’d stand there looking at my lovely turban, now just a silly towel on the floor.

Picking it up was no easy feat as the rest of me was wrapped up like a little girl burrito. I’d have to try to bend down and pick it up between two little fingers. Once I finally triumphed in the Amber vs. towel showdown I’d have to skirt down the hall to find my mom like a little terrycloth lightening bolt. Time was of the essence. You always risked her deciding your hair was dry enough to no longer need a turban. Hopefully that wasn’t the case and she’d use her vast abilities to wrap you all up again with what seemed like such an origami magic trick.

Now I dip my wet head down while stepping out of the shower, twist and I’m ready to go. I don’t even appreciate the turban! It’s funny how things reverse when we grow up. Stuff that was a cinch when I was little can be so elusive sometimes. All the while, things that seemed near impossible as a kid happen while I’m barely thinking.

OK. I promise that’s as pensive as I’m going to get today.

Here’s to the happy little moments–like Fridays! Hear, hear!
Listening to right this second: ‘The Way I Loved You” — Taylor Swift

17 replies »

Leave a Reply

Categories

#LaterGram

I'm leaving Adobe Max and Las Vegas prouder of human beings than I have been since kindergarten. This week, I danced my brains out while Mark Ronson dj'd, had Johnathan Adler speak directly to my soul, learned things I've been trying to understand on my own, met so many of my idols and took my art to a level I've been striving for. I marveled at the depth of creativity in the world, (& of course, I saw Britney, b**tch.) Vegas is so beautiful and bright & strong. 🍁🍁🍁 And I think to myself what a wonderful world
.
.
.
 #tanniversary #alohaoe #πŸŒΊπŸŒ™πŸ― πŸ’™/ πŸ’™ πŸ’™ High Tea with this heartthrob. 
#πŸŒΊπŸ―πŸŒ™ #tanniversary2017 One of Matt's most wonderful culinary school professors owns a gorgeous restaurant here in Honolulu. It is Brooklyn meets Hawaii & it's a total party, @fetehawaii -- The food is as delicious as it is beautiful, but these Foie Gras Gyoza (King trumpet mushroom water chestnut duxelle, Maui Upcountry poha jam, balsamic chili reduction) were even better than they look ;) Spending the evening with the owners was a highlight of this already baller tanniversary  #πŸŒΊπŸ―πŸŒ™ #tanniversary2017 #πŸŒΊπŸ―πŸŒ™ Here's to a solid year of wedded bliss with this heartthrob. #year1withmynumber1 #πŸŒΊπŸ―πŸŒ™
